AE Trophy Nominees 2016/17

AE Trophy Nominees – 2016/17

Congratulations to all that have made the published nomination lists. Your progress and outstanding achievements are a credit to your dedication and passion. Without doubt the same congratulations to each and every one of you that has personally excelled with best performances over the last year. Similar congratulations go to your coaches that are with you every step of the way. Lastly, I know that some of these performances were generated by having AE club mates with you while doing, watching and supporting, encouraging and being there, this makes it very SpAEcial!

Most Imporved Athlete Of The Year

  • Godwin Mugarula – had his first full winter season and recorded strong performances for road and CC races. His Track season produced 5 PB’s from 800 through 3000 with an O’30 mile club record.
  • Jemima Keay Doak – had an incredible track season with 15 track and field PB’s and two full event heptathlon pb’s. The Heptathlon events were outstanding as at the State champs and National champs she achieved 6 out of 7 events pbs for both heptathlons.
  • Karl Baddeley – produced a stellar year of results that spanned both seasons. Karl ran 4 pb’s road cross country (3 of these were over 10km) Track season 4 track pb’s
  • Kylie-Anne Richards – her first full season with club, she ran and represented the club in distances from Marathon to 1500 track relays. Tokyo marathon was the standout performance of 3:03:31 improving on her recent Melbourne M pb performance of 3:15 6 months prior. Kylie also ran 10km and Half M pb’s
  • Harry Sin – only been with club for half a year showing a great approach with consistent training that led to breakthrough performances in 10km + Half M
  • Renee Briffa – following a series of injuries through most of 2016 she returned to competing in Dec and successfully competed culminating in a world masters 400 2nd place, 2nd in 200 and 400 Australian masters and 2nd in the 400 the Sydney track classic invitational.
  • Cecilia Malmberg – a successful comeback from a significant accident culminating in 3 gold medals in world masters games (800,1500 + 4×400 relay) and 2nd in European masters 1500.

Male Performance of Year

  • Karl Baddeley – ANSW championship half marathon
  • Harry Sin – ANSW championship half marathon
  • Antoine Burbaud – ANSW Sydney 10km
  • Philip Balnave – Sydney marathon
  • Christopher Zinn – Sydney marathon
  • Ken Wilson – Australian masters champs 1500 first place
  • Kevin O’Brien ANSW state 3000 champs (PB).

Female Performance of year

  • Kylie-Anne Richards – Tokyo marathon (PB)
  • Renee Briffa – 61:34 – 400 (world leading at time of run for age group).
  • Cecilia Malmberg -1500 European masters finalist
  • Naomi Tancred – ANSW Sydney 10km ((PB)
  • Maisie Stevens – 200 all schools (PB & open club record) Age 16
  • Sara Dougan – 200 all schools (PB & open club record) Age 15
  • Jemima Keay Doak – Aust heptathlon (PB)
  • Victoria Mitchell – track 3000 9:04:32

Club Person Of The Year

  • Karl Baddeley
  • Ken Wilson
  • Robyn Smith

Tony Brown Award

  • Karl Baddeley
  • Robyn Smith
  • Ken Wilson

Junior of the Year Award

  • Jemima Keay Doak
  • Dylan Quirk
  • Maisie Stevens
  • Sara Dougan

Edna Wallace Fun Runner of the Award

  • Daniel Novak
  • Chris Zinn
  • Rosemary Bridge

Ced Sidebottom Encouragement Award

  • Julie Yan Huo
  • David Doctor
  • Eddie Piazza